Cape Verde: Main Facts

An Archipelago of 10 Volcanic Islands

Cape Verde Main Facts

Geographical Location of Cape Verde

Cape Verde is situated in the Atlantic Ocean, 600km northwest of Senegal and comprises 10 volcanic islands and five islets in two groups: Balavento (Windwards) and Sotavento (Leewards). In the former group are the islands of São Vicente, Santo Antão, São Nicolau, Santa Luzia, Sal and Boa Vista, along with the smaller islands of Branco and Raso; the Sotavento group comprises the islands of Santiago, Maio, Fogo and Brava, along with the smaller islands of Rei and Rombo. Most have mountain peaks; the highest being Pico do Cano, an active volcano, which is on Fogo.

Land/Sea Boundaries of Cape Verde

The Cape Verde archipelago is located in the Atlantic Ocean, approximately 604 km off the coast of West Africa. It is composed of ten islands (of which nine are inhabited) and eight islets. The islands have a combined size of just over 4,000 square kilometres.

Languages of Cape Verde

Portuguese is the official language, but most Cape Verdeans speak Crioulo, an African-inflected version of medieval Portuguese, as their first language. In rural areas and even sometimes in towns and cities, you may have trouble communicating in standard Portuguese. Some English, French, German and Spanish are also widely spoken.

Currency of Cape Verde

The unit of currency is the Cape Verde escudo (CVE), divided into 100 centavos. Most businesses also accept US dollars and euros.