Delhi: Geography

A multidimensional metropolis

Delhi is located on the banks of the River Yamuna, and is one of the seven Union Territories of India. It borders the Indian state of Haryana on the North, South and West, and the state of Uttar Pradesh on its East. Delhi is spread over an area of 1,484 square miles, of which half is designated as rural and half as urban areas. Located in the northern part of the country, most of Delhi lies in the Gangetic plains.
Delhi has a population of over 14 million people, with a large chunk comprising migrants.