Hong Kong: Geography

The Pearl of the Orient

Hong Kong Geography

Hong Kong officially known as the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China, is situated in Southern China, in East Asia and consists of four main areas: Hong Kong Island, Kowloon Peninsula, the New Territories and the outlying islands. There are over 230 islands that make up Hong Kong. The narrow body of water separating Hong Kong Island and Kowloon Peninsula, Victoria Harbour, is one of the deepest natural maritime ports in the world. Hong Kong's terrain is typically hilly and mountainous with steep slopes. There are lowlands in the northern part of Hong Kong. The lowest elevation in Hong Kong is in South China Sea (0 m) which surrounds the country's southern coast while the highest elevation is at Tai Mo Shan (958 m) in Tsuen Wan, the New Territories.