Kenya: Geography

Mountains, deserts, colourful tribal culture, beaches, coral reefs and wildlife

Kenya Geography

Kenya is on the equator and covers an area of some 583,000 sq km, which includes around 13,600 sq km of Lake Victoria. The country is bordered to the north by the arid bushland and deserts of Ethiopia and Sudan, to the east by Somalia and the Indian Ocean, to the west by Uganda and Lake Victoria and to the south by Tanzania. Kenya is dominated by the Rift Valley, a 5000 km-long crack in the earth’s crust, which contains a chain of lakes and volcanoes including Mt Elgon and Mt Kenya. The other three primary zones include the coastal belt with its white beaches and coral reefs, and high temperatures all year round. Western Kenya contains pristine rainforests and tea plantations as well as the Maasai Mara National Reserve. Finally, the arid north and east regions of Kenya bordering Somalia and Ethiopia are used mainly for cattle grazing, where rain is scarce.