Seychelles: Geography

Book your ticket to paradise

Seychelles Geography

Seychelles comprises 41 granite-based and 74 coral-based islands divided into two groups, Inner and Outer. The Inner Islands include the largest members of the Seychelles family, Mahé, Praslin, Silhouette and La Digue. The Outer Islands include many postage stamp-sized coral atolls. Some of the granite islands have some modest elevations; the highest peak is Morne Seychellois, rising 905 metres, on Mahé. Many Seychelles islands are dominated by tropical forests with abundant, and often rare species of plants and animals.