Switzerland: Main Facts

A summer and winter sports paradise

Switzerland Main Facts

Geographical Location

Switzerland is in the heart of Western Europe, next to France, Germany, Italy and Austria.

Land/Sea Boundaries

Switzerland is a landlocked country, with borders on France, Germany, Italy and Austria.


There are four languages spoken in Switzerland: Italian, German, French and Romansch. The first three languages are all official languages, with 65% speaking German, 18% French, 10% Italian and 1% Romansch, which is the national language of Switzerland.


The Swiss franc is the monetary unit in Switzerland. Depending on where you are in Switzerland it is also called the Schweizer Franken, franc Suisse, franco svizzero and the franc svizzer. The franc is also the legal tender in Liechtenstein.