Turkey: Main Facts

Bridging the East and West

Turkey Main Facts

Location: Turkey lies both in the northern and southern hemispheres, with part of the country lying in the European continent and majority lying in the Asian continent.

Land/Sea Boundaries: Turkey is bordered by Greece and Bulgaria on the North West, Armenia and Georgia on the North East, Iran and Iraq on the South East and Syria on the South. Three sides of Turkey are surrounded by Seas, the Aegean Sea to the West, and the Mediterranean Sea to the South and the Black Sea to the North.

Languages: Turkish (official language), Kurdish and Arabic.

Currency: New Turkish Lira TRY (US$1 = 1.5624TRY)